top of page

What's in your bag?

Does anyone else find immense joy going grocery shopping or is that just me? No? Weird.

I seriously love picking out my food for the week. I go in with a plan to get my necessary items (fruits, veggies, proteins, whole grains), and let whatever's on sale guide my variety.


My week's worth of grocery items!

This is what I got today (shoutout to Aldi - seriously RUN don't walk to your nearest Aldi if you live near one. Their products are so good and so cheap).


Some of these items will last me longer than just for the week - I can make my proteins ahead of time and freeze them for later if I don't eat them in time. The almond butter and sweet potatoes will also last me a little bit longer because they have a longer shelf life.


Here's the breakdown:

Vegetables:

-Broccoli, spinach, salad mix (spinach and arugula), sweet potatoes, tomatoes, baby carrots, cucumber, avocado (although technically it's a fruit!!)

Fruits:

-strawberries, bananas, red grapes, mango

Protein:

-Skinless, boneless chicken breast, ground turkey, chicken sausage, greek yogurt, eggs, black beans

Grains:

-Whole wheat bread, quinoa, (I didn't buy it today but I also always have oatmeal in my pantry)

Other:

-Almond milk, almonds, feta cheese


Notes:

Look for sales! The mango I got today was on sale for 69 cents, the chicken was $2.19, beans were $0.79! You really can get a lot of produce for not that much money if you buy less processed foods. The almond butter was probably the most expensive but it was still under $4 and I don't buy that every week.


Check the labels! The bread I buy is 100% whole grain and only has 50 calories per slice. Some breads are highly processed and can contain added sugars and extra calories so just pay attention to what you're buying.


Sometimes I get one item "just for fun" to keep things interesting. This week I chose feta because I want to make tzatziki sauce for a Greek inspired meal! Stay tuned for the recipe.


In health and strength,

Marisa Galli

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page